An accidental date.

I tend to find myself on dates without realizing that I’m actually on one. Sounds bizarre but it seriously happens to me.. not often because I don’t meet guys all that often, but when I DO meet a guy to hang out with, I think we’re just going to grab a bite or a drink… nothing serious. For some reason I never think about it much more than that. And then it gets referred to as a date. Case in point, last night with fun accent guy from speed dating.

If you recall, I thought fun accent guy was… well, obviously fun. And I love accents. But I kind of thought he wasn’t my type and not someone I wanted to date.. so when he suggested we “get together” for drinks (and he never referred to it as a date, in fact he almost made a conscious effort not to refer it as such), I said sure. I figured I’d go into it with an open mind, but completely under the impression that we were just meeting up, and that’s that.

Yeah I was wrong. While we were out he referred to it as a date quite a few times.. and I guess if it WAS a date, as far as dates go… it wasn’t bad. I definitely had fun and he’s an interesting guy, and we share a few things in common. I mean, I don’t know… I assume that’s what a good date should be like, I haven’t been on that many dates. I tend to do the “start out as friends… oh we’re dating now” route.

Either way, by the end of last night I was pretty convinced that I don’t see myself dating this guy. Not that it’s anything to do with him, he’s a great guy… but just not my type, as I had previously thought. And I would totally say “maybe we could be friends” but I’m tired of the trend where I end up dating someone I’m not completely into, which is what usually happens. The next guy I date (minus accidental dates, of course), I want to be crazy about. Crazy in a good way, of course.

I’m just hoping I don’t end up being the perpetually single, crazy cat lady. :p

18 responses

  1. Quave

    Where’s his accent from?
    Oh, by the way, I don’t think Bay is crazy, so you’re safe. šŸ™‚

    May 20, 2011 at 8:19 am

    • Somewhere in Europe, that’s all I’ll say. šŸ™‚ And phew.

      May 22, 2011 at 4:29 am

  2. I think “meeting up for ” is whatever it is depending on the outcome of the event. In other words, if you meet up for drinks and have a fabulous time deciding to do it again, well it was a first date. If you meet up and it was…eh…then it was a meeting. My point: clearly he was way more into you than you were into him.

    Isn’t that just always the way it goes? When you are interested in him, he isn’t and when he is interested in you, you aren’t. Welcome to my world.

    Can I be the crazy dog lady? I’m allergic to cats.

    Have a happy Friday! =)

    May 20, 2011 at 8:20 am

    • That’s a good point. I thinkits probably also less stressful if you go In to it with no expectations of date vs no date. So how are you going to tell the guy it’s not gonna happen? Don’t mind my creeperness, I’ve never dated a lot since I met my husband at 16.

      May 20, 2011 at 8:49 am

    • That’s what I thought but, after the fact, when I told people I met up with a guy they were like “that’s a date”. Huh. And yup, that’s totally my world too.

      May 22, 2011 at 4:29 am

  3. This same thing happened to me countless times! Argh. It’s so frustrating. I even had one guy start referring to me as his girlfriend after I saw him like twice. I always find it so awkward trying to figure out the whole friend vs boyfriend issue… especially if it’s someone you’re not completely into.

    May 20, 2011 at 9:23 am

    • Good to know it’s not just me.. although whoa with being suddenly a girlfriend after 2 dates lol!

      May 22, 2011 at 4:30 am

  4. This happens to my sister all the time! Props to you for going into it with an open mind though! I’d definitely nip the relationship (even a “just friends” one) in the bud though because the guys don’t usually get that, especially when you’re nice. It’s always a good idea to wait for someone that you are actually excited to be with šŸ™‚

    May 20, 2011 at 10:38 am

    • Yeah although I’m not sure how to kinda nip it in the bud ya know? Soooo awkward.

      May 22, 2011 at 4:31 am

  5. Eh, you gave it a try. That’s what counts. And you can’t be a crazy cat lady without the cats. So just don’t get those and you’re golden.

    May 20, 2011 at 11:58 am

  6. “I want to be crazy about. Crazy in a good way, of course.”

    Cool! ’cause this kinda crazy would be like… crazy!

    šŸ˜€

    May 20, 2011 at 12:12 pm

  7. You won’t become a crazy cat lady. You are still young and have plenty of time to find the right guy.

    You gave it a try which is awesome and now you know how you feel about him.

    May 21, 2011 at 1:27 pm

  8. Frist of all- how did I not know you were blogging again? I feel totally left out!

    Anywho, I totally live in fear of being the single crazy cat lady. Luckily, it sounds like you are at least getting out there, which is WAY more than I can say for myself…

    May 21, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    • Ack, I want to know how I totally lost your blog. Nice to see you again! And eh, I think one attempt (without success) does not getting out there make.

      May 22, 2011 at 4:38 am

Leave a Reply

