Kind of being a quitter. Not really.

pink flowers (This picture has nothing to do with anything, I just love taking pictures of flowers… and then having you tell me how I’m such a great photographer. :))

I really wanted to blog about job related stuff that happened yesterday but… I’m superstitious. Well, I don’t know if this is a superstition but essentially, I get nervous when it comes to talking about certain things because I’m worried they won’t end up happening after all. It’s happened before and it sucks. So, until I sign a contract, mum’s the word. That said, I’m really happy and hoping it all goes according to plan. I should find out in 2 weeks (ack!) or so. Oh and I didn’t quit, this is unrelated to the title of this blog post!

Meanwhile, I DID decide to quit Bridge to 10K. As I said before, I don’t think the run-walk intervals combination was walking for me anymore… once I start walking, I find it hard to start running again. So for now I’m going to set time goals (unless you all think I should set distance goals instead?) and increase the times each week. Yesterday I wanted to run 40 minutes without stopping but my iPhone kept losing GPS signal/an app was giving me a hard time (have I mentioned how much I want a Garmin lately??) so I had to stop twice to fix it. But I ended up running a total of 45 minutes (3.55 miles), so I figure that’s a start. Oh and if you’re wondering… the run went better than the last one, but it wasn’t great at first. At the beginning I was feeling frustrated and started thinking how much I suck at this but then I started thinking “hey, at least I’m doing it!” And eventually it got easier and the time flew by. Anyway, I’m thinking I’ll finish out the week with 45 minute runs and then next week increase it to 50 minutes. I’m not anywhere near the speed or distance I want to be at but I guess it takes time. That said, I feel like I’m getting slower every day!

In related news, it looks like I won’t be doing that 5k after all (see, I’m apparently a quitter). I’ve been asked to work that day and it’s a good opportunity for me, plus I could really use the money (Garmin money!) so I think I’m going to go ahead and back out of the 5k. I’m bummed because I was really excited about it, but there will be other 5ks. Unfortunately they won’t give me a refund so if anyone wants to take my place, maybe we can try to sign my info over to you? Let me know if you’re interested!

30 responses

  1. Quave

    I don’t think it qualifies as quitting if you actually have an alternative plan and have a good excuse. It’s good that you’re setting yourself challenges, it’s definitely a positive approach to progress. This is really good stuff. You make me wish I’d get off my butt and do something fun like this.

    May 19, 2011 at 7:30 am

  2. I don’t think you are being a quitter. I can totally understand the idea behind the walk/run intervals being hard once you are used to a solid run. It would feel like a back step. Just set personal goals and you’ll feel like you are accomplishing things!! You can do it. I have total faith in you.

    And not doing the 5K in order to make money isn’t quitting. Doing things for your job is good. And doing something to get your garmin is great!

    Once I have this baby I plan to start running in Jan or Feb (depending on how I heal). I’m going to rely on you for support!!! Your excitement is contagious!

    May 19, 2011 at 7:40 am

    • Okay phew, thanks! And yay, I’ll be excited to have you start running! šŸ™‚

      May 22, 2011 at 4:40 am

  3. You are so not a quitter. YOU seriously just need to do whatever works best for YOU. Sometimes it takes a while to figure out what that is. Time goals…distance goals…whatever works is my motto! Truly, the point is that you are doing it. I find that the first mile is always a struggle.

    Good luck on the work stuff! =)

    May 19, 2011 at 8:29 am

  4. What apps are you using on the iPhone? I used to use Nike+ and Runkeeper. I had issues with both and the GPS dropping. I think the idea to quit the intervals and start increasing your time is great. I am like you, once I start walking my legs are like “hey this is much nicer, no more running”. I think it just depends on the individual but I know once I start walking in a race it’s over… Good luck with the work stuff!!

    May 19, 2011 at 8:55 am

    • Um, I have the Bridge to 10k app, Nike+ gps and Runkeeper. All of which drop gps. And thanks!

      May 22, 2011 at 4:41 am

  5. I always enjoy looking at your pictures of flowers šŸ™‚ Girl got skills!

    As for the whole quitting thing, I don’t consider it quitting so much as pursuing an alternative. You’re still keeping at it, just doing it in a way that works for you. That’s better in the long run anyways šŸ™‚

    I’ve always set distance goals for myself, and then worked on improving my time for those distances.

    May 19, 2011 at 9:24 am

    • Aw thanks! And that’s true, that’s a good way of looking at it.

      I might work on distance instead of time. I feel like my time has increased but my distance barely has, strangely enough.

      May 22, 2011 at 4:42 am

  6. I would say go for distance, because “they” say (whoever they are) that speed comes naturally with distance. So, you’ll be doing both at the same time essentially.

    40 min non-stop is awesome! I need to build up my endurance again.

    May 19, 2011 at 9:30 am

  7. I wouldn’t recommend true interval training until you’re up around 30 miles per week. You should be working on endurance for now – which it sounds like is your intent, but be careful with your training. It sounds counter-intuitive, but just trying to increase your time and/or milage every day is not going to work out for you. I’d recommend getting a coaching program from one of the magazines (Runners World) or so on. They’re typically 12 weeks long or more. But it’s a mix of short runs and long runs. The short runs are for strength (try to run them faster), the longer runs are for endurance. Both are important.

    For example, week 3 might look like this:
    Day 1 – 2 miles
    Day 2 – 3 miles
    Day 3 – rest
    Day 4 – 3 miles
    day 5 – rest
    Day 6 – 4 miles
    Day 7 – rest

    And then as you progress, week 10 will have more miles, but still have those short runs:
    Day 1 – 2 miles
    Day 2 – 4 miles
    Day 3 – Rest
    Day 5 – 3 miles
    Day 6 – 7 miles
    Day 7 – rest

    Just an example…but you get the idea. If you’re on Nike+…they have some good basic training programs.

    May 19, 2011 at 9:38 am

    • Ohhh interesting. Although that feels like, for example the week 10 you listed. How would I do 7 miles when the other days I’m not even doing more than 4? I feel like 7 would kill me.

      May 22, 2011 at 4:43 am

  8. I think the time goals are a great idea! When I started running I didn’t even finish the couch to 5k program because I had the exact same problem with intervals. I did the same thing that you are doing and it worked well for me. After a while of doing time goals I started keeping track of my mileage and gradually switched over to mile goals. Only recently (like, in the past month) have I started keeping track of how fast my miles are and trying to increase pace. It’s all a gradual thing for sure. You’re also not a quitter! You’re still running but you just switched to a program that will work better for you and that’s what counts šŸ™‚

    I’m keeping my fingers crossed that everything continues well with your work news!

    May 19, 2011 at 10:39 am

    • Glad to know someone else suffered through the walk breaks too.. and thanks!

      May 22, 2011 at 4:43 am

  9. I am pretty sure you aren’t a quitter ..based on the fact you have Option B for both of them! And you’re totally right .. take the money& buy a Garmin (purchase one for me too while you’re at it?!)! Keep up the running, you’ll rock it šŸ™‚

    May 19, 2011 at 12:17 pm

  10. Yeah, neither of those things sound like quitting to me! Your plan B sounds totally reasonable, and frankly, I also hate walking intervals, so I would do the same thing. Just make sure you don’t raise your mileage too drastically. Good luck with your training!

    May 19, 2011 at 6:07 pm

  11. Don’t worry, you’ll get there…don’t call it quitting, just a change in plans šŸ™‚

    May 19, 2011 at 8:49 pm

  12. Skip the Garmin and start running first. Be committed!

    May 19, 2011 at 10:37 pm

  13. and then having you tell me how Iā€™m such a great photographer.

    Oh, but you are!

    May 20, 2011 at 12:51 pm

  14. I totally want/need a Garmin too. I feel like I would push myself harder with it…my morning six milers are way slower than when I race 10Ks! Gahhh.

    May 20, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    • My friend says that we run faster during races because of the excitement and adrenaline and whatever? I dunno if it’s true, I’ve only done the one.

      May 22, 2011 at 4:50 am

  15. I hope job related ‘stuff’ is good news!!

    I bet you could find some great Garmin specials now!! Keep running one step at a time!

    May 21, 2011 at 2:27 pm

Leave a Reply

