Running update…

First of all, I finally got my official time from my first 5K the other day: I came in 82nd place, out of 214 runners, in 34 minutes, 29 seconds. To which I say, meh. I mean, great that I made my goal time (I wanted under 35 minutes) but I’ve run 3.11 miles in 34 minutes flat before. I should’ve run a bit faster.

Runner-2They sent me this pic, which is the only non-blurry pic of me running. Not the most flattering tho. I think it might be time for a new sports bra?

I guess I have an opportunity to beat my time though, as yesterday I finally signed up for this:

hfrJune 4th, which is only 3 weeks away. Whoa.

I kind of felt the need to register for a 5K because I’ve been feeling really unmotivated lately. I’m still working on Bridge to 10K but today is only week 2 day 3… last week I only ran 2 days. I used to run 4 times a week! I think it’s a combination of it getting really hot (and it’s only going to get worse, I know) and my being so drained from the craziness that is the last few weeks of school. I’ve been thinking of getting a handheld water bottle to start taking on my runs… think that’s okay? Any recommendations?

Meanwhile, I’m about to cave and buy my Garmin, I’m getting so annoyed with running with my iPhone. I’m having to literally force myself to not buy it, as I know I’ll be getting an amazon gift card within the next 2 weeks and that can go towards my purchase. It’s just that lately my apps on my iPhone aren’t recording my distance/pace correctly… and this is information I’d like to KNOW. The other day on my run I thought I was flying cuz according to my phone, I was running 8 minute miles… which I NEVER do. I get home and realize that both my apps lied to me and I have no idea what distance I’ve been running at… one said 3.3 miles (including warmup and cooldown, I KNOW I did more than that) and the other said 5 miles (I WISH I could run 5 miles in 45 minutes). Sigh.

One day you will be mine, my pretty, one day… Maybe… I’m still debating between the 610 and the 310… Hmmm.

I will say that the great news is that I am finally running without pain, again. My ankle is finally better, my knee woes are gone (although sometimes I think my IT bands around my knees feel a bit tight, but that usually passes) and I’m feeling pretty good when I run lately. I did have to purchase some Body Glide over the weekend cuz I was starting to experience some um.. chafing. Yes, my thighs are trying to tell me I need to quit eating all the yummy foods that I’ve been overindulging in lately – ice cream, brownies, cookies, etc. The day after work is over I’m going to work on eating healthy again.. I’d say I’d start now but the end of the school year = lots of treats that I just can’t say no to.

And finally, I leave you with this shirt that I found yesterday, thanks to a link from The Hungry Runner Girl (love her!):

your pace or mineΒ Cracks me up every time I see it!

If I’m wrong for wanting that shirt, I don’t want to be right. πŸ™‚

32 responses

  1. Quave

    Nice post! I like the shirt, I like the gadget and I like the photo. (Do you really want me to answer your question?)

    Good luck with the new run. You’re doing a good thing!

    May 16, 2011 at 8:02 am

  2. Yay for a second run πŸ™‚

    Also, I’m pretty sure running photos are NEVER flattering. They are still awesome .. I love my photos of me crossing the finish line. Even though I look like I was hit by a truck LOL!

    Water bottle = yes! Get a Camelbak. They last forever and have arm bands to hold them πŸ™‚

    May 16, 2011 at 8:25 am

    • Ha ha, I guess after running so long it’s pretty normal to look like you’re hit by a truck at the finish!

      May 18, 2011 at 9:49 pm

  3. I have a Garmin 305 – it’s an older model but it works perfectly. And it’s usually on pretty good sale on Amazon.
    PS. That’s a good picture!

    May 16, 2011 at 9:40 am

    • I’ve been debating the 305 but the newest one seems to be waterproof… which I think might come in handy.

      May 18, 2011 at 9:49 pm

  4. Love that shirt!

    You totally need a Garmin. It makes a world of difference!

    I would kill to run a 5K in under 35 minutes (well…don’t quote me on that…I mean I’m not a murderer). It’s always nice when there is room for improvement so that you can…improve! Also, with you running these races in our lovely Houston *warmth*, just imagine how well you will do in the fall and winter as you gain experience AND the weather is in your favor! =)

    I think you are awesome!

    May 16, 2011 at 9:47 am

    • I DO need a Garmin! Hopefully someday soon I’ll get one…

      Yeah I’m excited for running in the fall/winter now. Assuming I survive this long Texas summer.

      And thank you! πŸ™‚

      May 18, 2011 at 9:50 pm

  5. That shirt is total awesomesauce!

    Do you know if the Heights Fun Run is walker friendly? I’m still at a walk/run stage, but I would love to do it.

    May 16, 2011 at 9:57 am

    • Yeah I think it’s walker friendly… it looks like last year someone finished the run in over an hour. Plus there is a walk that starts right after the run.

      May 18, 2011 at 9:50 pm

  6. How exciting! I’m running my next race on June 5th, we’ll have to compare notes!

    I’ve also been dropping hints to Josh about wanting a Garmin. I’m sick of running with my iphone too, boo!

    May 16, 2011 at 11:18 am

  7. Good job on your 5k!!! I have the Garmin 305 and I LOVE it! It seriously changed my training for the better!

    May 16, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    • I hope I can get a Garmin soon, I keep hearing great thing about them!

      May 18, 2011 at 9:51 pm

  8. YOU DID AMAZING and you look so beautiful doing it!! Signing up for another race always helps my motivation! GET THE GARMIN…you deserve it:) Have an amazing day!

    May 16, 2011 at 5:56 pm

  9. Kate at KateAsOfLate

    New follower from 20sb! I’m so glad I found your blog! I have been wanting to start running for a while now but need to start on a treadmill because of my ankle, so had to wait for acceptance to University… Etc etc but moral of the story is I am glad I found your blog because you have inspired me to really start!! I love that Garmin watch too!

    May 16, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    • Hi, thanks for finding me! I hope you start soon, and I hope you blog about it so I can read along. πŸ™‚

      May 18, 2011 at 9:52 pm

  10. Umm, your time sounds awesome to me! I’m still trying to go sub-40, although I haven’t run a 5K since my first one in January.

    You totally deserve a Garmin, but I would probably hold out for the gift card. Although, you can buy lots of things on Amazon, so maybe you can put something else you would normally buy on the gift card and buy the Garmin now?

    May 16, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    • I guess I have way too high expectations for myself. Blegh. And yeah, I think I’m gonna hold off on the gift card. It’s only a little over a week away now.

      May 18, 2011 at 9:52 pm

  11. New to your blog, but it’s so great to read the perspective of another new runner. I have just started running in the past few months too!! I need to get signed up for a 5k to stay motivated. πŸ™‚

    May 16, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by, glad to find another newbie! πŸ™‚ I hope you do, I’d love to hear how it goes for you!

      May 18, 2011 at 9:52 pm

  12. I absolutely love that shirt! So funny.

    May 16, 2011 at 8:34 pm

  13. What a great blog you have! I love your photography and wish I could be a runner too. I just hate running but wish I liked it.

    May 16, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    • Thank you! And if it helps, I seem to hate running most of the time, lol!

      May 18, 2011 at 9:53 pm

  14. Girl you should be proud! I think anyone who finishes a race is amazing, and those who sign up for another one are even more amazing πŸ˜‰

    And the most important thing is that you’re running without pain. You can always work on improving your time if you’re injury free πŸ™‚

    May 16, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    • Aw thanks… and you’re right, I’m glad to finally be injury free. *knocks on wood*

      May 18, 2011 at 9:53 pm

  15. I’m betting part of not wanting to run last week was that you were still in pain. Cutting it down to 2X a week probably helped you heal. Good Luck with your next 5K.

    May 17, 2011 at 5:26 am

  16. cognitivedistortion

    You did awesome for your first 5K! Think, they will just get better!

    And I wouldn’t have known about the weak sport bra if you hadn’t said anything. That’s an interesting action shot there. lol

    LOVE the shirt at the end. That’s you.

    May 18, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    • Next time I won’t say anything, lol! And isn’t it?! πŸ™‚

      May 18, 2011 at 9:54 pm

Leave a Reply

