appreciated.

Flowers and card

This week my work celebrated Teacher Appreciation Week (yes, a week later than everyone else). I couldn’t resist taking my camera (with my macro lens, of course) and snapping a few shots.. especially since flowers are my favorite thing to shoot.

bright flowers

I’ll be the first to say that it’s not about the presents. In fact, in the 2 schools I used to teach at before this one, Teacher Appreciation Week wasn’t something parents even knew about. Actually, even the schools wouldn’t really do much for the teachers.

flower card 1

And if you’re going into teaching for the presents, I’ll say.. you’re going in it for the wrong reasons. Teaching isn’t about that. In fact, teaching is about so much MORE. Watching the kids as they read their first full book, as their write their first sentence. Helping the kids when they struggle with something and sharing in their joy when they finally master it. Creating a strong foundation for them, so that not only do they LOVE going to school… they excel at it.

flower card 2

While I appreciated everything I received, I have to admit that what I loved best were the hugs. The big pile everyone in/knock the teacher over 15 students deep hugs. The “you’re the best teacher ever!” comments. All the little cards my students made me on their own, without being prompted. The parents asking if I plan on moving up to first grade so that they can keep me as their teacher. That’s why I do this job. That’s how I feel appreciated.

pink

But pretty pink flowers are definitely always welcome. 🙂

28 responses

  1. and what pretty pink flowers they are! =)

    May 13, 2011 at 7:52 am

  2. Quave

    Yep, definitely nice to know one’s appreciated.
    (I sound like a royal).

    May 13, 2011 at 8:11 am

  3. Glad that they are doing something to make you feel appreciated. You definitely deserve it.

    Amazing pictures as always, Ari… My 3 faves are the 1st, 2nd and 4th ones.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    May 13, 2011 at 11:05 am

  4. Love those flowers! So beautiful. :]

    May 13, 2011 at 2:40 pm

  5. Before I went into psychology, I really considered becoming a teacher. In fact, sometimes I regret not going for that instead. I would love to work with kids and see them learn as they grow…

    Teachers play an amazing role in shaping kids as they grow up, and they definitely deserve to be appreciated for all the work they put in.

    May 13, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    • I think being a teacher is hard but definitely fun and rewarding. That said, I always found psychology interesting when I was in college.

      May 15, 2011 at 7:44 pm

  6. SO pretty, and so nice of your students/parents do that! I love Macro lenses—the details they produce is just amazing!

    May 14, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    • I know, they are too sweet! And I heart my macro lens, I think it’s all I ever use!

      May 15, 2011 at 7:44 pm

  7. The flowers are so pretty! It’s nice to be appreciated 🙂

    May 14, 2011 at 1:43 pm

  8. Awesome pictures! The flowers are so pretty!

    I still wish you could be Chris’s teacher next year. You sure you don’t want to move to BCS? 🙂

    May 14, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    • Thank you! And I have a feeling it might be hard to get a job over there… move here! I’d love to be his teacher!

      May 15, 2011 at 7:45 pm

  9. i appreciate teachers and i’m done with school! a good, dedicated teacher is getting harder and harder to find. your flowers are beautiful!

    May 14, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    • I hope my students appreciate me when they’re done with school! 🙂 thank you!

      May 15, 2011 at 7:45 pm

  10. this post reminds me of how much love I have for many of the teachers in my life. And also, how REWARDING the brief period in my life where I spent a ton of time tutoring young kids was. there’s nothing like seeing a child accomplish something, and recieving a hug from them out of appreciation.

    I remember in 6th grade, it was a huge deal that we all pitched in to get our teacher a very expensive laser pointer. whhaaat? seems so strange in retrospect

    May 14, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    • I think that’s great, I have a few teachers that I have very fond memories of. And ha, I’m sure that teacher appreciated it though!

      May 15, 2011 at 7:46 pm

  11. Gorgeous photos and happy teacher appreciation day!

    May 15, 2011 at 1:59 am

  12. Thanks for being a teacher! I know you probably don’t hear that nearly enough, but teachers are so important to making sure society can continue to function. You are also not paid nearly enough.

    May 15, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    • Aw thank you, I appreciate hearing that! And I completely agree with you!

      May 15, 2011 at 7:46 pm

  13. Your flowers are lovely 🙂 It’s a little late but happy teacher appreciation week from a fellow teacher!

    May 15, 2011 at 6:59 pm

  14. Beautiful photos& isn’t it great when parents want you to keep teaching their children?!

    Congratulations on making a huge difference in those kiddies lives 🙂

    May 15, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    • It makes me feel so good that they want me to stick around. And thank you! 🙂

      May 18, 2011 at 9:55 pm

Leave a Reply

