It’s all about perspective.

I’m learning that life can be so different, if you look at things a different way. Trying to be more zen, if you will. I’m not zen. I let everything bother me. Seriously, everything. I can hold a grudge for ages, I can grumble about something minor for hours, if not days. Definitely not zen. You know who IS zen? My bestie, mother of the cutest baby in the world:

 Granted, how can you not be zen with a baby as cute as this?

I take my zen tips from her… and tend to fail. But lately I’ve been working extra hard.

Take yesterday, for example. I was driving home from work and my car starting acting funky (shuddering when I tried to accelerate, and generally refusing to GO!). I ended up driving across town to my friend’s place (she of the cutest baby), because her fiance is a mechanic and a) he could help make sure I don’t end up paying an arm and a leg and b) I trust him.

Instead of being upset that my car is in the shop and whining about what a hassle its going to be, I’ve been looking on the brighter side. Not only did my car not die on me when I was driving on the freeway, but it also managed to make it all the way across town to my friend’s place. Plus I’m stuck missing work but since it happened yesterday afternoon, I got to call in already, emailed my sub plans and therefore, got to sleep in today. Well, somewhat… I’m not good at sleeping in lately. But at least I get to relax at home, and my allergies have been beating me down lately, so I deserve it.

And… I just got the car verdict. Good news: what IS wrong with the car is covered under warranty (I’d pretend to know what he said was wrong with it… but I have no idea. Basically, they need to replace the on board computer and I heard something about spark plugs and coils.) The bad news: my car is basically out of commission for the rest of the week. But, again.. the good news: living with my parents comes in handy, as I might be able to borrow one of their cars to get to work while I’m car-less. Yay!

See… my maintaining a positive attitude brought about good news. Okay not really, the news was going to be the same no matter what, I’m sure, but maintaining a positive attitude meant that I didn’t waste energy getting mad or frustrated about the situation for no reason. Right?

It’s like what also happened yesterday: I got home to find out that the cleaning lady unplugged the power strip, which plugs in my TV. Actually, she not only unplugged the power strip but she also managed to unplug the DVR cord from the power strip, which I didn’t discover until later in the evening, which meant House and HIMYM didn’t get recorded. But instead of getting upset… I decided to be glad that we do have a cleaning lady, who irons my shirts, and changes the sheets and all the other things I hate doing. Plus I can always watch my shows online.. maybe even today, since I can’t get to work.

Perspective, right? Or maybe it’s just the power of positive thinking. Either way, I need to keep working it… it seems to be working out for me. 🙂

16 responses

  1. I’m not so sure I could be considered zen-like myself (I have a bit of a temper about certain things). But I have been working on it for the past several years. Having kids helped…not only because you learn to pick your battles to save sanity, but also because when they start losing their temper, you see how silly it is.

    But you somewhat hit on an important topic…energy. Getting worked up about something is simply a waste of energy. If you can’t change the situation, you might as well accept it quickly and keep on moving. It’s just not worth the energy.

    May 10, 2011 at 11:38 am

    • Yeah I’ve definitely been told I have a temper… you’re not alone. And I think you’re right and that’s what I need to keep working on… getting worked up about something that usually ends up being not worth the energy.

      May 10, 2011 at 8:51 pm

  2. You’re too good. I’d have gone crazy if I missed HIMYM. I have so few shows, mr. DVR knows better than to screw up on me or I will go loco on his butt. (Yes I decided the DVR is male.. it’s the only way to explain some of its behavior)

    May 10, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    • Well luckily I had the day off so I knew I could catch up on HIMYM. And i did. And lol that your dvr is male. I haven’t decided the gender of mine yet..

      May 10, 2011 at 8:53 pm

  3. I hope I can channel your positive thinking! I always try to stay positive and usually fail miserably. HIMYM is definitely available on cbs.com, cause we don’t have cable, but I am addicted to that show and manage to see it every week. I hope that helps?

    May 10, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    • I hope I can keep up my positive thinking, lol! And yup, totally helped… I managed to find and watch HIMYM this afternoon. Woot!

      May 10, 2011 at 8:54 pm

  4. I do my best to think positively about most situations. I mean, I have an occasional freak-out, sometimes over the smallest things, but for the most part I try to be zen and positive. It really helps because then you’re not annoyed/upset as often.

    May 10, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    • I think that’s a great mindset to have… I need to try hard to be like that.

      May 12, 2011 at 10:32 pm

  5. I try to be zen and positive, I think blogging has really helped me to focus on the positive instead of the negative.

    Glad to hear it is working for you so far. :]

    May 10, 2011 at 8:57 pm

  6. Feelin’ the positivity. You’re right, changing perspective can really help. Oh and that baby IS adorable.

    May 10, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    • Right?! Maybe if I had a little kid like him in my life, I’d be super positive. all the time. 🙂

      May 12, 2011 at 10:34 pm

  7. Zen? What’s that??? ha! I am totally guilty of harping on things for a while…I call it venting. I don’t hold grudges though, but only cuz I have A.D.D. and get easily distracted!

    I am, however, a HUGE believer in flipping things for the positive – somehow/someway! Great job doing just that! =)

    May 10, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    • Yeah I’m good at venting. But I’m starting to realize that I vent TOO much to people that are too polite to tell me to go away already lol.

      May 12, 2011 at 10:34 pm

  8. I LOVE the positive attitude. I try so hard to change things into the glass half full side. It’s tough sometimes, but it’s funny how much of life and happiness is just mental. Glad your car will be ok for the most part!

    May 11, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    • I agree, it is tough but definitely worth it! And thanks, me too!

      May 12, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Leave a Reply

