Back to… black?? and being lame.

So over the weekend I went from this:

old hair(Actually, I think it was a bit lighter and more orangey in real life, red hair is hard to photograph.)

To this:

newhairHoly crap, my hair is black!

That was NOT what I was going for. My hair is naturally brown… not really dark brown, maybe mousey brown. Either way, last summer I started dyeing it red, I may have been majorly influenced by a certain redhead on Mad Men. Who has much more money than me and can afford the monthly trips to the hair salon. I enjoyed being a redhead for a while, but eventually the monthly costs, plus having it fade into an orange hue started getting on my nerves and for the last few months I thought I’d want to go back to brown. Anyway, I finally had enough and decided to go back to brown. Unfortunately for me, it ended up being black.

I know, the color will probably fade but still.. my hair looks black! I’m pretty sure I’m too pasty white to rock this look. I think this just goes to show me that I need to stick with my natural hair color. Dyeing is just not for me.

Meanwhile, Saturday night I went to a party and spent the evening curled up with this handsome man:

tongueΒ Much cuter than any guy I’ve met lately. Plus he actually WANTS to spend time with me.

My friend brought her adorable baby and I basically played nanny and helped take care of him, which I totally loved. At one point I got called lame for not drinking… or, more likely, not being drunk like most everyone else there, but I’ve never been a big drinker. I enjoy drinking socially, maybe a glass or two, but I don’t drink to get drunk. And if being lame means getting to bottle-feed that handsome little man and snuggle with him after, then that’s totally fine by me. Hopefully I’ll get to be lame next weekend too. πŸ™‚

14 responses

  1. Oh, I like the black! Like, a LOT. You can totally rock that. Now you need some awesome red lipstick.

    I went black last year and it faded into an even better color. I’ll probably do it again at the end of this year.

    Oh…and same thing with me this weekend. I went to a going away party on Sat. and didn’t drink at all and everyone kept telling me I was too sober. It was SO annoying. Dude, if I don’t wanna drink I should be allowed to not drink.

    May 9, 2011 at 9:29 am

    • You think so? I’m thinking it might fade back into red so it might take a few more dyes to get it back to brown. Pesky red.

      And exactly! Since when do people have to bug you to drink? People need to live and let live.

      May 9, 2011 at 9:19 pm

  2. SuzyQJenn

    Don’t worry – the color will fade. Same thing happened to me after I got married – I was getting highlights so my hair would look all pretty for the wedding but then decided afterwards that it was just too high maintenance for me and went back to my “original” color and it was super dark but eventually faded to a natural brown. The summer sun will help with that! πŸ™‚
    What a cute baby – your friends should thank you for “being lame” – they might need a designated driver one night right?!

    May 9, 2011 at 10:02 am

    • Yeah, with this Texas sun I’m surprised I don’t end up blonde!

      And yeah, exactly!

      May 9, 2011 at 9:20 pm

  3. Aww, I miss the red

    May 9, 2011 at 12:00 pm

  4. Ah, I’ve done the dying your hair black thing. Whoops. Sad thing was, it was around Halloween and my boss commented “At least you’ll have an easy costume”. Waaaah! I ended up getting some stuff at Walgreens that partially removed some of the color, some sort of color corrector or something. Supposedly the Walgreens staff know about this stuff well because it’s one of their best sellers (for all us at home dye people.)

    May 9, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    • The sad thing for me is… I’m not a home dye person. I had this done at a salon!

      May 9, 2011 at 9:20 pm

  5. It looks great! You remind me of that actress Kristin Stewart in those pics!

    May 9, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    • Thanks! And really? That’s the first time I’ve gotten that comparison!

      May 9, 2011 at 9:21 pm

  6. Honestly, I like the black! I think it looks really good with your skin color.

    If being lame is wrong, I don’t wanna be right. That kid is adorable and I would have done the same thing!

    May 9, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    • Thank you! And glad to know someone else would’ve done the same (well, actually, the mother of the baby was doing the same too lol).

      May 9, 2011 at 9:21 pm

  7. I love dark hair. It looks great!

    May 11, 2011 at 6:46 pm

Leave a Reply

