Happy birthday Bay…

My cat, Bay, turns 7 years old this month. I don’t know her exact age.. when I got her she was about 18 weeks old (although originally when I got her I was told she was only 8 weeks old and a BOY, wow was I misled) so her birthday is somewhere around here.

Growing up, I was always a cat person… without a cat. My mother claimed to be allergic, my dad considered them “useless”… I wasn’t able to finally get one until graduating from college and moving into my own apartment. Which didn’t allow kittens. But from the moment I saw this little one, I couldn’t resist and took her home. She is the kind of cat that I have always wanted, cuddly but not clingy.. sweet but sometimes shy. Oh and now that we live with my parents, she has them wrapped around her paw. Seriously, my dad says hi to the cat when he gets home from work before he says hi to my mom.

As I type this, she just attacked and killed a bug that found it’s way inside the house. Such a good girl. 🙂

Anyway, I’m feeling a little sentimental so I hope you’ll excuse my little “love letter” to my cat…

Dear Bay,

IMG_0435When I got you, your ears were too large for your body (very much like the Skippyjon Jones books my students love)…

But I always thought you were beautiful.

IMG_0674You put up with me torturing you…

Picture 043But you still have a feisty side.

IMG_3350I never expected a cat could be so sweet and loving.

032210And now you have grown into a beautiful “lady”. 

Happy birthday boo. Here’s to many, many more birthdays together.

24 responses

  1. I love this! I love my cat, Bailey! He was my first cat/pet in college. He is completely the same way…just cuddly. Bay is adorable 🙂

    May 6, 2011 at 8:47 am

    • Great name for a cat. 🙂 Mine is only cuddly on her terms.. or when she’s cold, so winter is great lol! And thank you!

      May 6, 2011 at 10:01 pm

  2. A heartfelt post. I was listening to “Dream a Little Dream of Me” (by The Mamas & The Papas) while reading this, and I think it kinda added to the mood… very nice.

    Happy birthday Bay!

    Cats rule, and cat people are cool!

    May 6, 2011 at 9:15 am

    • Oooh that does sound like it would go well with this post. Good thinking! And thanks!

      May 6, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    • Oh, that is one of my favorite songs ever! All blog posts should have soundtracks like that.

      Happy birthday, Bay!

      May 8, 2011 at 7:10 am

  3. Happy Birthday to your amazing cat! love the pictures.

    May 6, 2011 at 11:05 am

  4. What a cute kitty! Happy birthday!

    May 6, 2011 at 11:27 am

  5. Aww, she was an adorable kitten. She’s gorgeous now.

    May 6, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    • I kinda think she was pretty funny looking as a kitten. In an adorable way, of course.

      May 6, 2011 at 10:09 pm

  6. She is such a pretty cat! Hope she doesn’t get too wild and crazy on her birthday.

    May 6, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    • Oh she’s totally wild. Right now she’s curled up next to me. *love*

      May 6, 2011 at 10:09 pm

  7. Aww, happy birthday Bay! This was a sweet post – she’s such a pretty girl.

    May 7, 2011 at 1:02 am

  8. hahahaha love the sweater! my cat(s) hated being dressed. i guess yours is trained:)

    May 7, 2011 at 1:50 am

    • Oh mine hates being dressed too! She flops herself over and refuses to walk lol.

      May 8, 2011 at 5:52 pm

  9. So sweet .. that is one VERY pretty cat 🙂 Her eyes are striking!

    May 7, 2011 at 12:53 pm

  10. what a beauuutiful cat. i love it when they do the “loaf of bread” pose when their feet are tucked up under them. i’ve always been a cat person myself. i’m down to just one purr pet and am kinda pondering more… shhhh, don’t tell the husband.

    May 7, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    • Ha ha yeah that’s my favorite pose. And good luck with the potential next one… my cat doesn’t like other cats so she’s stuck being my only for a while. 🙂

      May 8, 2011 at 6:20 pm

  11. I concur that Bay is a great name! Your cat seems pretty likable — this coming from a girl who normally doesn’t like cats :/ She’s so exotic with those eyes!

    May 8, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    • Thank you, I think she’s the kind of cat that would make people who don’t like cats love her. She’s just that kind of wonderful.

      May 8, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Leave a Reply

