A night of speed dating…

So they say (whoever they are anyway) that you should do something that scares you every day. I don’t know about doing something every day, but within the last week I have now done 2 things that scared me: #1 being the 5k and #2 being… speed dating.

For those of you who don’t know, speed dating is like a series of first dates, one right after the other. In my case there were 13 women and 13 men, and you got 6 minutes per date. After 6 minutes (or so, I swear sometimes they would make it go longer) the coordinators would come around and tell the guy to move to the next girl (the girls never moved.. and there was no bell like I think there should’ve been at times).  As the night goes on you kind of take notes on each guy, and then within the next few days you get to pick some guys that you’re interested in getting to know (aka, want to be “matched” to). If someone picks you too, then email addresses will be handed out and the rest is up to you.

I’ll admit… last night I sat in the car for about 15 minutes, debating on if I wanted to go in and go through with this. I was tired, I just wanted to go home, and I was convinced that every guy in there would not be worth my time. But I dragged myself in, preparing for the worst. And you know… I was actually surprised.

To be honest though, I can’t tell you how it went because… I don’t know. I won’t know for another few days who decided to pick me back. And that’s the disheartening part, isn’t it.. no matter how much I liked a guy or how well I thought I got along with someone, if they don’t pick me… I may never see them again. So we’ll have to wait and see what happens. I didn’t get to stake out my female competition (I wound up in a room kind of away from everyone else) so I don’t know how it’s going to work out. I will say that there was 1 guy that I was very interested in, and 1 guy I was pretty interested in.. a few maybes… and quite a lot of no’s.

I think the worst part was being stuck on a “date” with someone I knew I wasn’t interested in. And there were a few of those. And I’m not even taking about appearance, it was the whole package: appearance, personality.. everything put together was just miserable and those 6 minutes realllly dragged on. There was one guy from a foreign country that I could barely understand (but was apparently waiting to meet me all night), one guy that seemed really full of himself (but it turns out he was just high), one guy that was pretty much a professional speed dater (and didn’t seem to be having much luck with it) and one guy that made me feel like I was being interviewed, as all he did was ask question after question.

One of the coordinators came over to me about halfway through and said I looked tense. That’s probably not good.

It wasn’t all bad though. One guy and I spent part of our time talking about books, after realizing that he was reading a book that I had recently finished.  Super cute guy and I spent time talking about my alma mater, since he had connections there. It was kind of fun to learn about people and pick up on common interests: I got to talk with people about running, traveling, and so on.

And.. it also seems like I made some friends. While I was waiting for the night to begin at the bar (which was the mingling portion, before the speed dates began), I started talking to some girls that were near me, in an attempt to get a creepy guy to quit talking to me. After the event was over, they and a few of the guys (that I had considered cool, although not necessarily a match) were hanging around and we spent a good hour just laughing about the night.

So all in all it was pretty good. If I don’t get any matches, I might cry and since I won’t know anything for a few days I will hold off on giving a definitive judgement on speed dating. But I will say it was an interesting experience and I’m kind of glad I went. Would I do it again? I’m not sure… it did give me the opportunity to meet people who I wouldn’t have otherwise met (which seems to be my problem, I don’t go out and meet people), but at times it felt a bit stressful and it got tiring answering the same questions and being stuck in dead-end conversations with people I wasn’t interested in. So the answer is.. I don’t know. I wouldn’t say never again, but maybe it would help if I had someone to go with. Or if I get some form of match out of this one.

Now cross your fingers that super cute guy picks me too.

16 responses

  1. Don’t think I could go through that, and very glad I don’t have to.

    May 5, 2011 at 7:09 am

  2. You are my hero.

    I’m married, and I’m pretty sure I would still speed date once for the fun of it. I mean, just the stories alone would make it worth it!

    And it totally reminds me of the 40 Year Old Virgin when he meets the girl “Gina” and she tells him it’s pronounced “Jy-nah” as in “vagina.” Yeah, I went there.

    May 5, 2011 at 8:11 am

    • Wish you could come speed date with me then, I could’ve used the company!

      May 6, 2011 at 10:10 pm

  3. Good to hear it was an interesting experience.

    Fingers are crossed, and whatever the outcome is, I’m rooting for ya!

    May 5, 2011 at 8:20 am

    • Better than I expected it always good in my book. And thank you!

      May 6, 2011 at 10:10 pm

  4. What a brave woman! Great job facing such an intense, intimidating situation 🙂

    May 5, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    • Aw thank you! Now that you put it that way, I AM quite brave, aren’t I?! 🙂

      May 6, 2011 at 10:10 pm

  5. I’ve tried internet dating before and on my last stint I was tempted to set up a sort of speed dating for me session for all the guys that said they wanted to meet up…give them 5 minutes each and I could decide if I could manage to have a proper conversation with them!

    You have to take these things with a pinch of salt though. I’m pretty OK being by myself and I just throw myself out into the dating pond every now and again to see if I’m missing something. Usually I decide I’m better of as I am! But I guess you’ll never meet anyone if you don’t try and these things are a way to meet other singles.

    May 5, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    • Internet dating is one thing I have yet to try. I just can’t make myself do that yet.

      And I hear ya, I don’t mind being single… but it’d be nice to have someone special in my life again.

      May 6, 2011 at 10:11 pm

  6. Hoping for the best for you. That’s pretty awesome that you went. I’m too big of a chicken to step outside of my comfort zone.

    May 5, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    • Thank you! And I’m usually a chicken too, I have no idea how I convinced myself!

      May 6, 2011 at 10:12 pm

  7. I’m glad it turned out to be not so bad! Crossing my fingers that your picks liked you back.

    May 6, 2011 at 1:35 am

  8. Wow, that sounds intimidating! I hope something works our for you with one of your picks! Way to break out of your comfort zone and try something new!

    May 6, 2011 at 6:06 am

Leave a Reply

