What’s next?

So, after successfully completing my first 5k, you may be wondering… what next? Quite a few things actually.

Step number 1: Start Bridge to 10K. I meant to start yesterday but it was crazy windy and I just wasn’t in the mood to do battle, plus I was still acting like I deserve a rest day after my victory on Sunday. I plan on starting it today, even if the wind is crazy.

b210k

I don’t know when I’ll be ready to do a 10K.. the program is only 6 weeks but I don’t think I would want to do a 10K in the middle of summer. I might… die, it being Texas and all. Maybe I can aim to run a 10K by October. In the meantime I am definitely up for…

Step number 2: Sign up for another 5k. Of course. Before even running my first one, my friend and I were talking about running a second. I kept having to say “whoa, let me see if I can even finish one before I start planning for another.” Now that I’ve completed one, I don’t have that excuse anymore. I just need to decide which one I want to do. I have 3 choices so far:

  • Astros Race for the Pennant, May 30, 2011: This race begins at and ends in Minute Maid Park, and my brother has already said that if I sign up for it, he’ll do it too since he’ll be in town. My friend really wants to race it also. However. I have read online that the course is rather hilly and it’s not a very interesting course – not very scenic. So I’m not sure if I want to do this one.
  • Houston Heights Fun Run, June 4, 2011: I keep seeing this billed as a very fun, scenic race (although also very fast) amongst trees, which = shade. Which is very important since this is Texas and it’s rather hot here. This is the run I think I really want to do.
  • Women’s Texas Lavender 5K and 10K, June 4, 2011. I found this today and I think I may have been sold by two things: “water stops manned by handsome male servants” and that after the race, there is “breakfast with champagne or mimosas, great music, free massages…” Doesn’t that sound pretty much awesome? Only thing is this one is about a 3 and a half hour drive, we’d have to pay for a hotel plus gas ain’t cheap… it’ll end up being rather costly.

Decisions, decisions.

Step number 3: Get back on track with eating healthy. I quit counting calories a few weeks ago and as soon as I did that, I quit eating properly. Looking at the race pictures that I didn’t publish yesterday made me realize how much more work I have to do to get in the shape I’d like. Eating 2 Kit Kat bars, plus 2 pieces of chocolate cake and ice cream, on top of everything else on Sunday is a bit overkill. I just need to learn to restrain myself from bingeing on foods while still allowing myself to indulge every once in a while. I’m hoping I don’t have to go back to counting calories to do that, it’s no fun.

So that’s what I’m working on. Man that was really boring. Sorry. Having my goals spelled out for me kinda helps to force me to actually stick to them. Hmmm. Maybe I should blog about my budget or something next, heaven knows I need help there!

18 responses

  1. I need to start eating better, too. It’s easy to get on a binge. After I do that I start making excuses for myself about why it’s OKAY for me to eat junk all the time. Such a mental battle. UGh.

    May 3, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    • No kidding! One binge tends to lead to another, and it’s hard to get out of. Blegh!

      May 3, 2011 at 9:37 pm

  2. Good luck with your training! A 10 K would be really fun, I think! I’ve never actually done one. I skipped straight to half because I am unwell upstairs. You can totally do it, though, and let me know what I’ve missed out on!

    May 3, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    • Ha ha, I admire you for doing a half.. that’s amazing! We’ll see… right now I can barely do the 5k so we’ll see how I feel after b210k.

      May 3, 2011 at 9:37 pm

  3. YAY for another 5k and the 10K!!!!! How was the wind?!?! I hear you on the overdoing it on Sunday thing….I am right there with you!! LOVE THE RACE PHOTOS AND CAN’T WAIT TO POST THEM!!!

    May 3, 2011 at 7:49 pm

  4. I’m doing the Heights Fun Run-you should totally do it! Although the whole “fast” thing scares me a bit. I am a special kind of turtle 🙂

    May 3, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    • Are you?? Now I HAVE to run the Heights one! 🙂 And no worries, I’m a fellow turtle. Actual turtles could probably pass me. I’m hoping the “fast” part just means that it’s flat and not hilly, ya know?

      May 3, 2011 at 9:39 pm

  5. If gas& hotel weren’t issues I’d say Run 3 100%!
    Since they are .. go with the more interesting run.

    Running with little to no scenery is SO boring.
    PS so jealous you live in Texas.

    May 3, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    • I’m right there with you, I totally would do run 3 if it weren’t so costly. Dang money!

      And don’t be… Texas is far too hot for far too long. I need to get out of here!

      May 3, 2011 at 9:39 pm

  6. Race #3 sounds totally awesome, except for having to travel and spend money to stay there. I think it’s awesome that you’re really getting into running!

    May 3, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    • I know, if it weren’t for the expenses I’d totally do #3. And I’m excited about it.. and I hope this enthusiasm lasts!

      May 6, 2011 at 10:16 pm

  7. strangely, I fell in love with your blog immediately upon learning your name is Ari. My older sis (and thus my idol from ages 1–16) is Ariana, but to me is strictly Ari. Your name is the best.

    And for what it’s worth, I’ve been knocking down PR’s ever since I started eating like there’s no tomorrow. I’m an eating fiend. Maybe I need to restrain it a little bit, but for now I’ll just run all day and worry about it in 10 years. Do whatever you need as long as it makes you feel good and strong!

    May 3, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    • Your sister has a great name then!

      And that’s a good way to look at it then, I’ll have to keep that in mind. Thanks!

      May 6, 2011 at 10:17 pm

  8. I find that the more I am in training, the healthier I eat! It will all come full circle 🙂 Great Job on your race!

    May 4, 2011 at 6:08 am

  9. I’m interested in Bridge to 10k. I’m using Couch to 10k, which is a 13 week program. That puts me running (in NC) a 10k in middle of July. I’m scared.

    It always helps me to count calories too. Good luck training and eating better 🙂

    May 5, 2011 at 7:04 am

    • I wish I would’ve known about couch to 10k, I probably would’ve jumped into that. No not really, I didn’t even think I could do 5k at the time. And I’m scared too… summer doesn’t seem runner friendly!

      May 6, 2011 at 10:18 pm

Leave a Reply

