Getting ready for my first 5k!

Look what I picked up yesterday!!

photo 3 Whee!

My first ever race t-shirt and bib. Squee! I can’t believe my first 5k will be this Sunday. 2 days away. Holy crap!

Meanwhile, I’m tired of seeing this in the forecast:

wx forecastI feel like that cloud is laughing at me.

The 30% chance of rain doesn’t make me as nervous as that evil thunderstorm symbol. It’s like it’s waiting to ruin my day. Please please please, if it rains, let it rain AFTER the race is over. Preferably when I’m safe in my car.

I’m feeling *really* nervous because I have no idea what to expect. I don’t know if it’s going to rain or be painfully hot and humid (like last Sunday) or what. I don’t know if the course is going to be flat or hilly, boring or interesting, if there will be people there or not. I don’t know if I can even do it… logically, seeing as how I’ve been running that distance for the last week, I can… but I just doubt myself. I guess I need to do as the bathroom at Luke’s Locker told me:

photo 1 Who knew a restroom could be so wise?!

I guess I know deep down I’ll be okay. Truthfully, I’m kind of excited at the same time too… my first 5k! Who woulda thunk it?!

On a funny note, the guy handing out the shirts and bibs was saying that if we (my runner friend and I) wanted, we could get into the Chevron Marathon through the charity.. since the marathon is based on a lottery and all, but if you raise a certain amount through a charity you can get in that way too. I laughed, as if I could do a marathon! “It’s okay, you can do the half then,” the guy said. Um… dude I’m not quite sure I can even do a 5k!

Meanwhile, there’s still time to donate! I’ve been raising money for the Lupus Foundation and I’m seriously only $15 away from my goal. If you donate, I’ll run that much faster. Maybe. I dunno. I’ve never done this before. Anyway, click to donate, I would really appreciate it! 🙂

By the way, if you have any tips on what to do/not to do… I’m all ears!

Oh and wish me luck and think happy thoughts for me Sunday morning!

22 responses

  1. You’ll go awesome on your 5k!! Soooo fun you’re doing your first race. Just don’t start out too fast or you’ll burn out that last mile. I learned my lesson there.

    My best friend just agreed to do a 5k with me. She has never run in her life and is just starting so I am PSYCHED to find one for us. I want to find one with a medal so she can get something fun to keep for her first.

    April 29, 2011 at 9:09 am

    • Yeah, I’m nervous about starting out too fast, I’m hoping my friend will keep me on pace for the first mile or so. And thanks!

      That would be so cool, I want one with a medal!

      April 30, 2011 at 7:03 pm

  2. Wish you lots of success!

    April 29, 2011 at 10:10 am

  3. Best of wishes!! Make it your goal just to finish. That way you can always improve upon that in the future! You will be hooked! I ran my first 5K in October, and I have run at least one every month since then! It will give you something to look forward to and to set goals for.

    Sending positive thoughts your way!

    April 29, 2011 at 11:33 am

    • Thanks, I think my goal is just to finish without walking, without worrying about time. And lol, I’m already researching future 5ks… I need to see how this one goes first!

      April 30, 2011 at 7:04 pm

  4. You will be fabulous in that 5k!! I can’t wait to read all about it!! You will be up to a half in no time… : )

    April 29, 2011 at 5:24 pm

  5. Ahh, you’re first 5K! That’s so exciting-and amazing! You are going to do so great! On my first 5K, I focused on no one else but myself. It’s so easy to get caught up in the excitement and go out “too” strong. Regardless, you are going to Rock IT!

    April 29, 2011 at 7:08 pm

  6. Gaz

    The 5k will be a breeze! You’ll be running a half marathon before you know it. I did a 10k a couple of years ago and, though it was tough at the time, I moved on to couple of half marathons, and now I eat 10k for breakfast! 😉

    Good luck, have fun, and keep hydrated!

    April 30, 2011 at 3:44 am

    • Okay overachiever! I didn’t know you did half marathons.. why have you been keeping this a secret from me??

      Also.. why does my blog always think comments from you are spam?! :p

      April 30, 2011 at 7:10 pm

  7. Quave

    Ah well, you didn’t want my $5. :p
    Good luck with the 5K, it’ll be a breeze.
    Oh, and, nice graphics on the sidebar. :p

    April 30, 2011 at 8:58 am

    • Lol, thanks anyway. And lol, yeah great looking graphics. 🙂

      April 30, 2011 at 7:05 pm

  8. Excited for you!! 🙂 The first race is always a lil’ bit of nerves and a whole lot of excitement! GOOD LUCK…and remember to have a a lil’ fun with it too!!!

    April 30, 2011 at 10:18 am

    • Thank you… I’m definitely nervous and excited, will try to have fun for sure! 🙂

      April 30, 2011 at 7:06 pm

  9. AHHH HOW DID THE RACE GO!?!? I LOVE YOUR BLOG SO SO MUCH!

    May 1, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    • Not as much as I love your blog! And it went pretty good, thank you! 🙂

      May 1, 2011 at 5:45 pm

  10. I hope your race went swimmingly! I was so nervous before my first 5K and absolutely convinced I would sleep through it. Everything went perfectly and I had a blast!

    May 1, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    • Thank you! And lol I think that’s what happened to me, I kept waking up all night last night!

      May 1, 2011 at 5:45 pm

  11. I know this is a little late, but I wish all the luck in your 5k! I guess I should say I hope it went really well!

    I am very excited for you!

    May 1, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Leave a Reply

