Adventures in cooking and… I signed up for what??

Ah cooking. I hate cooking. Odd because sometimes I think I’d like to take cooking lessons. I enjoy eating food, I just don’t enjoy cooking food… it gets in the way of blog commenting/watching tv/reading/generally wasting time. When I moved back in with the parents, they told me I had to cook once a week. That’s not too bad, I get home cooked meals every other day. Only thing is, I don’t cook. Like, really.

Luckily my mom has this book, which I rely on almost every single week:

photo 4 365 recipes and I think I’ve tried maybe 5.. in the course of almost 2 years.

I try to find recipes where I get to put the chicken (it’s pretty much always chicken) in the oven because it kind of makes me feel secure in knowing that the chicken will get cooked all the way through. Plus I get to ignore it for a while. I stretch out on the stairs, because if I go up to my room I’m afraid the house will somehow get set on fire and that would suck. Plus my ankle has been hurting so elevating my ankle (sporting my new ankle brace, which helps and then sometimes hurts at the same time) is supposed to be good:

photo 1Be thankful I chopped off my toes. I need a pedicure. Also, I need someone to start paying for me to get pedicures.

Anyway, I tend to lie there on the stairs while my food is cooking… on my iPhone I catch up on twitter or facebook and generally relax. While my cat looks at me like I’m a freak:

photo 2She may have a point.

And then the end result. My food always looks exactly the same every time:

dinner april 27My mom added the lime. Obviously that would’ve never occurred to me.

Some form of chicken. Rice. Corn. Tastes good but not very original. My dad says “you need to learn to cook more than just chicken and rice”. My response? “You need to learn to eat pasta.” I can cook pasta with chicken. Or pasta with sausage. Or pasta with… butter. Hmm. I may need some new recipes. *Easy* recipes. As in, done in under 45 minutes and no crazy ingredients. Do you have any you want to share? No seafood, I don’t do seafood.

Meanwhile, I found this article about speed dating today… fitting, as next week I’m scheduled to go speed dating for the first time ever. I’m not entirely sure why I agreed to go… I think it was the combination of a groupon (which meant swagbucks!) combined with being tired of hearing everyone talk about their husbands while I’ve been single for far too long… it pushed me over the edge. I’m terrified of speed dating though. Even the article didn’t end on a high note. Why did I ever sign up for this? Have you or someone you’ve known gone speed dating before? Tell me a reassuring story please… make me feel better?

14 responses

  1. Quave

    Wow… lots on this one!
    So you have to cook 1 out of 21 meals a week? What do you do for lunch on work days?
    Now, why do you cook chicken? Chicken is difficult, mainly because as you said, it has to be cooked well. How about beef? Or lamb? Stir fries are really easy to make, and very quick. You need to add more vegies to that din-dins. How about some mushroom? Or broccoli? Cucumber? Zucchini? Carrot? Cauliflower? All those would be great steamed with a meal like this. Or mix in some corn and peas with that rice.
    I’m hopeless in the kitchen, so don’t think for a moment that I’m criticising, but I’m trying to share the little knowledge that I have.
    Good luck with the ankle, don’t overdo it. Remember, you need a functioning ankle for more than just running.
    Oh, you could do some nice mash potato!
    I should get you a copy of CSIRO’s Total Wellbeing Book. (I think that’s what it’s called).
    Speed dating? Really? Wow. All I can say is that there’ll be a lot of lucky speed daters getting to meet you.

    April 28, 2011 at 8:34 am

    • I don’t mind beef, don’t like lamb. Yeah I guess a stir fry is a good idea, I would have to plan ahead which I never do. And um… I don’t like any of those veggies. Except carrots. And cucumbers. I don’t like peas!

      The ankle is doing much better, I rested it today also.

      Yeah we’ll see if any of the speed daters are worth meeting…

      April 28, 2011 at 8:11 pm

  2. I am the SAME way when it comes to cooking! Sigh.

    Sorry to bring up my husband, but that looks like the exact meal he would love! He is a very picky eater, and he eats plain rice all the time. Corn is the only vegetable he eats, too. Like, swear to God, that looks like a perfect Jacob meal!

    Speed dating sounds exciting! It’s kind of a mystery type thing! Let us know how it goes if you decide to go!

    April 28, 2011 at 9:36 am

    • Ha ha maybe I need to find a picky eater that has the same taste as your husband, my cooking would be perfect then!

      Will do!

      April 28, 2011 at 8:15 pm

  3. I like to put some zucchini, mushrooms, red peppers, and precooked chicken sausage(Al Fresco Brand usually) and cook in all in a big frying pan, with oil, garlic, and basil… then I serve it over rice.

    April 28, 2011 at 11:08 am

  4. Yay for Houston bloggers! Your blog is awesome! And I will totally be donating to your 5K on my next paycheck. Rock it! Will you be at the blogger meetup in May?

    April 28, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    • Aw thanks! And I didn’t know about a blogger meetup… I wanna go!

      April 28, 2011 at 8:16 pm

  5. First off, I hope your ankle gets better soon.

    Now, regarding speed dating… that’s something I wouldn’t do because it seems too rushed and impersonal… but that’s just me. However, I wish you the best of luck if you decide to go.

    I love cooking. It’s one of the things that relaxes me. I even like experimenting and creating my own recipes… I even got sick once… don’t laugh… At least now I know what not to do!

    I make my own jam (without adding pectin) and I’m learning how to bake cakes (I already learned how to make a Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake!).

    If you want to try something different, check this Beef Wellington recipe, you might like it.

    Anyway, although I really enjoy cooking, I’m no expert. Having said that, I found this works well for me:

    I heat about a cup of water in a pot.

    I heat olive oil in a pan and fry both sides of the chicken cuts for about 30 seconds. I put them aside; then, I sauté half of a chopped onion, for about a minute. Then I put the cuts back in the pan and season them with garlic salt (or powder) to taste (I like adding Mrs. Dash too). Then I add hot water (about half the hight of the cut), I then lower the heat a tad more and cover the pan; I then let the chicken cook for about 10-15 minutes (usually 10 mins will do).

    Now I’m hungry…

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    April 28, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    • Sounds like a simple recipe that I can’t quite ruin… I’ll have to try that out next time! Thank you!

      April 30, 2011 at 7:07 pm

  6. Hmm. . .I’m not much into fancy meals, but I do like to cook.

    One of my favorites involves chicken breast, chorizo sausage and served over rice. Cook the chicken breast first (we cook it in the skillet, about nine minutes on each side to make sure it’s done). Then we dice the sausage up into little pieces to mix in with the rice. I also like to add red and green peppers and diced onions to it.

    Another one we like is thick-cut pork chops. Sear them in the skillet for about two minutes on each side, then let them bake in the oven at 350 for 45 minutes.

    April 29, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    • Hmm both recipes do sound good.. and pretty easy. I’ll have to try them out, thanks!

      April 30, 2011 at 7:07 pm

  7. Whenever I have to make a meal for myself, I almost always just have chicken, pasta, and veggies. Luckily I’m just cooking for myself and I never get tired of it. I don’t mind cooking, but I get intimidated by complicated recipes.

    Good luck with speed dating! I’ve never known anyone who’s done it, but even if it’s terrible, you’ll know not to do it again. Plus, you never know… it could lead to something.

    May 1, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    • See, I’m the same. Chicken, pasta and veggies works for just me. Not when I’m cooking for an audience. A picky audience.

      Yeah well here’s hoping!

      May 1, 2011 at 8:57 pm

Leave a Reply

