Couch to 5K graduate!

Well, I’ve finally done it. I am officially a C25K graduate!

c25kgradWhere’s my medal dangit??

It feels like just yesterday that I was starting out with the program. Just yesterday that I could barely survive the 60 seconds of jogging. And now I am able to run 30 minutes at a time… who would have ever thought?

Actually, to tell the truth, I’m not just running 30 minutes at a time. For the last week or so I’ve been ignoring my C25K app when it tells me my running time is over and I’ve continued running… on Monday I was able to finally reach 3.1 miles in 34 minutes, meaning that running my first 5K is completely possible. Quite the relief, I’m sure you understand. Although yesterday I ran 3.1 miles in about 38 minutes so… apparently I’m getting slower?

Now the question that remains is… what next? I think I do well with directions and boundaries… having a set 9 week schedule helped keep me on track and pushed me to continue to stay with running longer than I ever have in the past.Β I first thoughtΒ I could work on the Bridge to 10K program, as it seems to flow right from the 5K program… but the very first workout consists of 10 minute run intervals. I feel like now that I’m able to finally run 30 minutes at a time, going back down to shorter intervals seems like a step back. Am I wrong for thinking that? My other option is One Hour Runner, which progressively gets you running longer times.. but the first 3 weeks are all 30 minute runs, which is already getting old from C25K, especially since I’ve been running a bit longer than that anyway.

So I don’t know what program I’m going to do next… I’m open to suggestions. For now, I have less than a week and a half until my first 5k (eek!) so I’m going to spend that time trying to run at least that distance, if not more. (There’s still time to donate to my fundraising btw… just in case you were worried about that.)

Actually, for now I’m going to relax because today is my rest day and my ankle needs to recover.Β I’m going to bask in the knowledge that I completed the C25K program. And I’m going to let you all tell me how awesome I am for finishing.. or just how awesome I am in general. πŸ™‚

26 responses

  1. Congratulations! That’s quite an accomplishment!

    April 21, 2011 at 7:39 am

  2. Ari that is awesome!! I am so inspired by you! πŸ™‚

    April 21, 2011 at 7:39 am

  3. That IS awesome! When I started running, I don’t even know if they had programs like that or not. I just kinda went out and ran until I couldn’t anymore. I’m glad I stuck with it, but probably not the way to go about it.

    You should sign up for a 10k and that can be your next goal. Do it girl!

    April 21, 2011 at 8:01 am

    • You know, when I first started running I just… started running. And then hurt my knee (probably due to old shoes but still). Then I heard about this program and I’m glad I did.

      And you know.. maybe I will. Just the other day my friend and I were talking about maybe setting a goal to run a 10k by August…

      April 21, 2011 at 9:11 pm

  4. We already knew you were awesome!

    I need to do a couch to 5K of walking at least….really need to get back into my walking groove.

    April 21, 2011 at 8:02 am

  5. Quave

    Well, I guess sprinting and long distance running are two completely different beasts. I guess it depends on what you want to do the exercise. I wouldn’t know what to suggest, I’m still on the couch. πŸ™‚

    April 21, 2011 at 10:13 am

    • I don’t think I’d sprint… 10 minutes of sprinting at a time may kill me.

      Get off the couch then!

      April 21, 2011 at 9:12 pm

  6. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    Congrats on completing C25K! I was so proud when I finished it.
    I use Runner’s World Smart Coach to plan runs now. You can use it to play around with speed and distance. I’m a big fan πŸ™‚

    April 21, 2011 at 11:26 am

  7. Congratulations!! What a great accomplishment! You deserve a medal πŸ™‚

    April 21, 2011 at 12:10 pm

  8. Congrats!!! Thats awesome!

    April 21, 2011 at 7:19 pm

  9. WAY TO GO GIRL!! I found out about the C25k App after I finished it so I never had a fun message pop up 😦 Boo.

    What 5k are you doing??

    April 21, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    • Aw sad. Technically though that message was there the whole time. I could’ve seen that message before starting. But I saved it til the end cuz I’m cool like that. πŸ™‚

      I’m doing the Lupus 5K Run on May 1st, it starts at the downtown aquarium. I have no idea if it’s a good 5k to do or anything, I’m hoping it is.

      April 22, 2011 at 9:36 am

  10. Congrats! I started running about a year ago. I know how much of an accomplishment it is to accomplish a milestone like this. Good job!

    April 22, 2011 at 11:39 am

    • Thank you! Wow I hope I’m still running in a year!

      April 25, 2011 at 6:51 pm

  11. Hello! Thanks for stopping by my blog…and CONGRATS on becoming a C25K Graduate πŸ™‚ I was like you and pretty much ignored the last week and just ran because it felt so good to be able to run 30 minutes or longer!! I have now completed a few 5Ks…and although they are my favorite distance, I am going to challenge myself to a 10K. I ditto the comment above on using the Runner’s World training…it adds some hills and speed workouts…should help you start trimming down your 5K times πŸ™‚ GOOD LUCK!

    April 25, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    • Thank you! And I think I might challenge myself to a 10k… if this 5k goes well and all. And I will definitely look into that!

      April 25, 2011 at 6:51 pm

  12. Congrats!!! That is definitely an accomplishment and I say go for the 10k next! Good luck!

    April 25, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    • Thank you.. and I think I *will* go for the 10k.. assuming this 5k goes well. πŸ™‚

      April 25, 2011 at 9:35 pm

  13. Hey! I am new to your blog, but just wanted to say that’s awesome you finished the c25k program. I am still in the contemplating stage haha, but I’d really like to start running!
    Any tips?

    P.S. Cool blog πŸ™‚

    April 27, 2011 at 6:37 am

    • Hi thanks for visiting! My tip would be… don’t just contemplate… go for it! Also, don’t look ahead.. there’s one day that you’re gonna be like “I can’t do that” but you totally can. I think c25k does a great job building up your stamina slowly… so go out there and start!

      April 27, 2011 at 8:36 pm

Leave a Reply

