Weekend randomness…

The highlight of my weekend (which went by way too fast, what’s up with that anyway?) is that yesterday I managed to run a full 3.02 miles. Once again, the farthest I’ve ever run but also it makes me feel a little bit better about signing up for a 5K. I am pretty confident that within the next 13 days (ack!) I can add an extra .08 of a mile to my runs and therefore finish when the day comes. I hope. Let’s not talk about how LONG it took to run that far, but it doesn’t even really matter I guess. My first goal is distance. Time will come eventually, I think.

This weekend I also bought the magazine Runner’s World for the first time. I felt like such a poser. Wait, is it spelled poseur now?

photo 2 One day I’m gonna look like Kara Goucher. Not really.

I also went into Academy to see if they had any cute workout clothes that I needed (thankfully for my wallet, they did not) and found an mp3-compatible top. Um, what? Yeah it was all normal until I turned it to the other side and found this:

photo 1 A friend said it looked like something.. well not suitable for this blog. I’ll leave that to your imagination.

So you slip in your iPod nano and run with it? I feel like I’d end up with my nano beating up my back while I run. That would be less than fun. Besides, nanos are so… a few years ago. I ended up giving my hot pink one away to someone in need (although sometimes I kinda want it back because it was so cute). If I ever have money (and this would have to be AFTER buying my Garmin, siiiigh so basically I’ll never have money), I’m snagging one of these:
sony w Hello awesomeness. Also know as the Sony W-Series Walkman MP3 Player. Drool.

And finally, there are pretty blooms everywhere. This isn’t really new, it’s been spring since February here in Texas, but I still love looking at flowers. Especially when it’s at a random location, like walking into Target.

photo 1 At first I thought it was a magnolia tree but now I’m not so sure.

photo 2 This flower looks a bit sad what with the brown edges. Aw.

And that was my weekend. So how was yours? 🙂

16 responses

  1. Quave

    Wow, interesting weekend! So you need to add 0.08 miles every day? As long as you’re having fun and looking after yourself… go for it!
    So if you buy the top with the funny bit, you won’t need to buy the walkman. Great! I’d go for the walkman.
    I took photos of pretty plants this weekend too. I went to visit friends interstate, a 5 hour drive each way. It’s nice to see and feel autumn as it’s meant to be. 🙂

    April 18, 2011 at 8:10 am

    • No, not every day. I just mean that during my next few runs, I hope to hit at least 3.1 miles each run. Or more. But I’ll aim for 3.1.

      And the walkman looks so cool! Not too pricey either.. and waterproof, kinda.

      It’s so weird you’re in autumn. I wanna be back in autumn, I’m jealous.

      April 18, 2011 at 6:18 pm

      • Just remember, Autumn means the beginning of the school year! We’re working on finding the END of the school year. 🙂

        April 19, 2011 at 6:16 am

        • Oh yeah, I forgot about that!

          April 19, 2011 at 8:20 pm

        • Quave

          Yeh, sort of, although school starts in late January. Summer officially occurs in Dec – Feb. By the time autumn comes, in March, it’s almost term 2.
          Having said that… can I have holidays now?

          April 19, 2011 at 10:19 pm

  2. I love running. I want to use some of my tax refund to get new shoes…but I want to get fitted and have some professionals look at my feet. I wanna get more hardcore into it, you know? Good for you for getting into a healthy hobby!

    April 18, 2011 at 8:43 am

    • Ooh you should totally get fitted for new shoes. When I started running, I was wearing the wrong shoes and totally had knee pain. Then I got my tax refund and did what you were thinking of… got myself some shoes that don’t hurt me! And I hear you, I totally wanna be all a hardcore runner but I’m not sure I like it still. It’s hard!

      April 18, 2011 at 6:19 pm

  3. Ash

    great job on your run! my goodness, i need to start exercising! blahhh. anyways, just wanted to stop by to say hello. i’m blog hoppin!!

    April 19, 2011 at 3:12 am

    • Hi, thanks for blog hoppin over here! And running is kinda fun, sometimes… go for it!

      April 19, 2011 at 8:21 pm

  4. I have that Sony mp3 walkman, and trust me…you don’t want it. It’s so heavy it doesn’t stay in my ears. I was constantly adjusting it and I only tried it out on a 4-miler. I was so bummed too cuz I got it for Christmas.

    By the way, congrats on the 3.02 miles. That’s awesome! You’ll kick that 5ks butt.

    April 19, 2011 at 8:18 am

    • Really? Aw man, that was actually my fear. Especially cuz I have little ears.

      And thank you!

      April 19, 2011 at 8:21 pm

      • It’s good for other stuff though. Like, if you workout with weights or on a bike. Really good to have all the wires out of the way for that. Just, once you start bouncing, so do the headphones.

        April 21, 2011 at 7:21 am

        • Oh good thinking. I was thinking for using it primarily with running though so I guess I’ll save my money and run with the iphone. I should have a tan line on my arm from it soon. :p

          April 21, 2011 at 9:14 pm

  5. My sister in law got me a subscription to Runners World for Christmas this year. It’s a great mag. That particular issue is really good – I only read a couple articles, though, since I just gave it to my OTHER sister in law, who I’m trying to get to join me in a 5K in June!

    April 25, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    • Oooh fun, good luck convincing your sister in law! And good luck on your 5k then too!

      April 25, 2011 at 9:36 pm

Leave a Reply

