Friday Faves, take 1

So I had posted something really whiny and gloomy this morning… and then I promptly decided to take it down. I don’t want to be that person, even if I feel that way. I’m going to look for the things that make me happy. So even though I don’t feel at the top of my game, I’m gonna ignore the blues and think of all the good that exists. And, on that note and inspired by some posts I’ve seen today, here goes my first ever Friday Faves:

1. Blogs. I have spent so many hours lately reading an assortment of blogs (mainly running blogs these days, which both inspire me and make me realize how far I have to go) and I find something enjoyable in curling up with my laptop, reading about other people’s lives. It’s fascinating!

2. Sweet kiddos. My students always lift my spirits. They have such great minds, personalities and hearts, I feel lucky to be their teacher.

3. Having a running buddy. My friend just signed up for the same 5K that I signed up for and it’s nice to know that I have someone that will be right there with me, especially considering how nervous I am.

4. Amazing donors. Quite a few people have donated money to sponsor my run, I’ve currently raised $185 towards my goal. I am so very thankful to all who have donated. If you are interested in donating, there’s still time!  Click here for more information.

5. Honest people. Having my driver’s license mailed back to me pretty much restored my faith in people. It’s good to know people like that still exist.

There. Writing that list kind of lifted me up a bit. A much better way to end the work week, wouldn’t you say? 🙂

10 responses

  1. It is very good to focus on the good things that are happening to us, as it is too easy to dwell on the bad things.

    April 15, 2011 at 2:52 pm

  2. It’s amazing how writing your own blog makes you read so many more by others. Though google reader tries to give me heart attacks at times – had 84 new posts the other day to read and I only had a spare half hour!

    Hope you have good weekend.

    April 15, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    • I love the blogging community, being back made me realize how much I missed it.

      Do you have your google reader sorted into folders? Now that I sorted mine, whenever I have a ton of new posts, I aim for the ones I want to read first, in the *must read folder. Makes me feel better lol.

      April 18, 2011 at 6:21 pm

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog, I always enjoy finding other Houston bloggers!

    Having a running buddy definitely helps to keep me motivated. I just did my first 5k with my running buddy in December, and in March we ran our first half marathon! Let me know if you decide to sign up for the San Antonio Rock n’ Roll 🙂 It sounds like a lot of fun!

    April 17, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    • I didn’t realize there were more Houston bloggers until I started looking! 🙂

      Wow a half marathon, I’m so in awe! And I’ll totally let you know… it sounds like fun but we’ll have to see how this 5k goes first!

      April 18, 2011 at 6:21 pm

  4. I’m so excited for you running your 5K soon! I would love to do that, but I’m way past the “couch” end of things lately. 😉 I’m trying to find a few good blogs to read too, maybe they will keep me inspired to update mine more often!!!

    April 17, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    • I think you could do it If I can do it, anyone can do it. It just takes one step – starting!

      April 18, 2011 at 6:22 pm

  5. Hi Ari! I’m glad you found my blog 🙂 I definitely agree with #2. Sometimes a sweet comment from a student turns my day around!

    April 18, 2011 at 12:02 am

    • Kids seem to know the right things to say sometimes. And then again, sometimes they don’t… :p

      April 18, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Leave a Reply

