Thoughts on running…

I referred to myself the other day as a “wanna be runner” and yes, I really do look at myself like that, a wanna be. I tend to not stick to things too long so I’m waiting to see if running actually “sticks” with me this time and then maybe I’ll call myself a runner. For now I’m taking it one day at a time. Kinda.

It’s interesting because at 4 separate times in my life I’ve tried to take up running. 2 years ago, I tried running… in June… in Texas. Not a great idea and I think I lasted 3 weeks, ending when I moved, which was kind of a shame. I’ve always kind of wanted to be a runner, I totally admire runners and I wish I could be as dedicated to something as they are. This time, this last time that I started running again, it’s been going really well, I’ve stuck with it longer than I have before, and I’m excited to share about it!

In mid-February my work had a heart walk that a few of us participated in. A friend and I decided at some point that we wanted to run part of the 1.9 miles and so we did. We ran for maybe a minute at a time, just a few times, but it was fun. It triggered something in me and the next day I decided I was going to start running. For the next few days I started out doing one mile around my neighborhood, and then after phampants (runner extraordinaire) suggested I try 2 miles, I did. And hurt myself, thanks to really old running shoes. And then I found the Couch to 5K program (and new shoes).

I am currently on week 7 of Couch to 5K… less than 2 months after starting out and barely being able to run a *minute*, I can now run 25 minutes at a time (or about 2 1/4 miles). I’ve never been able to run this far or this long before in my life and what’s great is not only am I able to… but I WANT to. I want to complete this C25K program. I want to continue running even after it’s done. And I want to be able to call myself a runner.

I guess my problem is that I’m impatient. I want to love running already… and I’m afraid that I don’t. I mean, most days I look forward to running, especially when I have a great new song on my iPhone  or cute new running clothes (I’m such a girl). After I’m done running, I feel proud of what I’ve accomplished and I’m glad I ran. But *while* I’m running… that’s a different story. All I can think is of how hot it is, or how sore my calves are getting, how thirsty I am or how hard it is to breathe (I find managing my breathing the most challenging part of running so far). I don’t seem to get into a zone and I think those people that talk about a runner’s high are lying to me.

Maybe I’ll get there. I hope so. For now my goal is to finish the C25K program, I only have 3 more weeks left. And after that… I’m thinking about rewarding myself with a Garmin watch (link leads to the one I’m lusting after) to motivate me to continue (my thinking is, it’s so pricey that I’ll HAVE to use it). My hope is that I won’t want to quit running, that I’ll fall in love with it and finally be able to call myself a runner.

8 responses

  1. It took me 2 years to love running. The first year was because friends were doing it. The 2nd year was because to stay fit and lose weight. By the end of the 2nd year, I was hooked.

    April 7, 2011 at 1:05 pm

  2. the high is real…part of the reason I run every morning at 4AM is because for the rest of the day I get to enjoy the buzz of the runner’s high…
    Keep plugging away…you’ll get there.

    April 7, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    • Thanks, I’m going to keep trying… people like you keep me inspired! 4am… wow, that’s amazing!

      April 7, 2011 at 9:04 pm

  3. cognitivedistortion

    I hope to be joining you with this someday!! I used to love running but things just got in the way. I’m going to get back to it eventually.

    Enjoy it!! 🙂 Especially before it gets TOO hot.

    April 7, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    • I hope you join me someday too! And ugh, don’t remind me. I’m not ready for the summer… especially since it lasts for about 6 months!

      April 7, 2011 at 9:12 pm

  4. I did the C25K a few years ago and did really well on it!! It really made me go from hating running to enjoying it. I also struggle with managing breathing too and I felt that program helped me gradually build my tolerance. I had to give it up due to health issues, but I really want to be a runner again some day!

    April 7, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    • Oh neat, I didn’t know that. So how long did it take for you to enjoy running? I hope you start running some day so I can have a buddy!

      April 7, 2011 at 9:13 pm

Leave a Reply

